Introductions

Standard

Greetings,

I guess that my first post here should be one of introduction.  This is my first attempt at blogging so please be patient with me until I get the hang of things.

My name is Deacon Bill Watzek, I am in full time ministry in the Diocese of Palm Beach where I have the honor to serve with a wonderful pastor and a kind bishop.

I am starting this blog as a way to reach out to others with the message of the Gospel, the Good News of our Lord and Savior, Jesus the Christ.

At a recent meeting of the National Diaconate Institute for Continuing Education (NDICE) I had the pleasure of listening to a number of great speakers, one of which was Deacon Greg Kandra the author of the blog site The Deacon’s Bench.  Deacon Kandra inspired me to take the “plunge” using today’s technology to share with the world, or at least a small part of it, my reflections on the Catholic faith and how God interacts with us in our daily lives in ways that we pretty much ignore.

At our Baptism we are told that we receive the Holy Spirit, the fullness of which we will receive at our Confirmation.  If this is so then that means that God, in the person of the Holy Spirit resides in us and that the gifts of the Holy Spirit are accessible to us after our Confirmation.  Believing these things is one thing, living a life that is in conformity with these realities is something quite different but if we are meant to be saints, and we most assuredly are, then the path that we must follow is one of living our lives from the perspective of eternity.

Well, we are now off and running, I just hope it is not into a brick wall.  I can not really think of a great catch phrase or some cute quip to sign off so I will just say.

Your servant in Christ,

Deacon Bill

Leave a Reply

